Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
The State of North Dakota allows a 50 percent tint on the front driver and passenger side windows. The back three windows can be as dark as you wish. Refer to City Ordinance 13-1013 for more information. If your tint is darker than this, you can be fined $20.
Show All Answers
You can contact the Police Department at 701-515-5500 and give the license plate information to our police clerk, who will look up the plate for you. They will be able to tell you if the vehicle has been towed or if someone has reported it stolen. If it has been towed, they will give you the phone number to our tow truck agent.
Yes, if your vehicle is within the city limits of West Fargo, the officers have tools to assist you in opening your vehicle. Contact us at 701-515-5500. Though our attempts may not always prove successful, we are generally able to open most vehicles. There is no cost to the citizen unless the police can't get it open and a locksmith is called. The department and its personnel are not responsible for any damages that may occur while attempting to unlock your vehicle.
The police department can't tow vehicles off of a private parking lot. If you are calling about an apartment building parking lot, please contact your apartment manager or rental office. If you are the owner of a business, please contact a towing company.
Yes, only if the light bulbs themselves are not visible to any other driver. If the bulbs are visible the owner of the vehicle is in violation of City Ordinance 13-1509 and will be fined $20.
The City of West Fargo has numerous rules of how, when and where an automobile can park on city streets. For instance, a vehicle can't remain on a city street for a period of time more than 72 hours and it must have current registration while parked on a city street. For more information on parking, refer to West Fargo's City Ordinance 13-16.
No. An ATV cannot be ridden in the City of West Fargo unless it is being used on private property for the use of moving snow, lawn work or general house repairs.
Snowmobiles cannot be ridden in the city for any reason except for loading and unloading onto a trailer.
For further information, please refer to City Ordinance 13-20. If you are caught riding a vehicle that is not permitted within the city limits, the fine is $100.
Having a North Dakota license automatically provides your consent to be tested if stopped by a law enforcement officer, while driving. This is the law of "implied consent" and can be used by the officer to test you if you are stopped on the suspicion of drunk driving, either through a breath test or a blood test. Refusing to take the chemical test will result in your license being revoked for a year for the first offense, 3 years for the second offense (in 5 years) and 4 years for the third offense (in 5 years).
Yes, you will need to contact the Police Department at 701-515-5500 and ask to speak to the Support Services Officer. Be prepared to provide the officer with the following information: your name, address, date, time and type of event. The officer will consider the request and make a determination if the special parking is warranted.
If you have received a parking ticket, you may bring a payment in person to the West Fargo Police Department, or you may mail the payment with your parking ticket to the West Fargo Police Department at (800 Fourth Ave. E, Suite 2, West Fargo, ND 58078).
Please make checks payable to the City of West Fargo.
Traffic tickets issued by a West Fargo police officer can be paid either in person or by mailing payment to the West Fargo Municipal Court (800 Fourth Ave. E., Suite 2, West Fargo, ND 58078).
Please make checks payable to West Fargo Municipal Court.
If you have questions regarding a traffic ticket, please contact the the Municipal Court.